top of page
  • Sisi Roose

3 ways to spend 3 minutes with Jesus (because we all have busy days)


I’ve been learning about the value of showing up in small ways.


I think it all started when my dear friend was preparing for the arrival of her baby. We both share a love for spending hours pouring over our Bible and filling our journal with the overflow of our heart. But she knew as she added a life to her world, her time would be needed differently.



We prayed about this for weeks and my friend’s short Jesus times became sweet.

If you follow my instagram stories, you know I spend most mornings on the beach watching the sunrise and letting my thoughts tumble with the waves. But there have been days I launched into full gear at 7am and didn’t wind back down until 7 or 9pm.


Those days inspired me to be intentional about the three minutes I could spend with Jesus instead of the time I couldn’t.


So, in case, your schedule has become a little tight this year and you’re having trouble finding time for your 30min journaling session with Jesus, here are three three minute Jesus times I’ve been loving:


3 MINUTE MEDITATION

Sit somewhere where there are minimal distractions. Place your hands face up on your legs for the first minute. Think about everything that you’re thinking about, that’s concerning you, that you wish was or wasn’t. For the second minute turn your hands over, palms down, and imagine Jesus’ presence, peace, joy, love (whatever it is you want most) wash over you and quite you. For the third minute, imagine yourself walking through your day with this presence covering and guiding you.


LISTEN TO A WORSHIP SONG

Most worship songs are about three minutes. Turn one on while you’re driving or getting ready for the day! Really, think about the lyrics; maybe even sing along.



APPRECIATE NATURE

This isn’t a three minute or not-three-minute activity. It can be as long or as short as you want. But making it a habit has given me reminders throughout the day to remember that God is creative and in control. All you do is choose to see the tree you’re driving past and say “look at those leaves blowing in the wind” or as you’re getting home from work notice the sunset and smile.


In the words of my friend Michele Edwards:


Three second prayers don’t make you any more or less holy than when you sit down with your Bible and journal for thirty minutes.

It’s time we stopped feeling small about showing up in small ways and decided to make the most of our small moments by showing up anyways.


P.S. Do you have a favorite 3 minute way of spending time with Jesus?! Help me grow this list in the comments...

25 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page