top of page
  • Sisi Roose

Use these 7 steps to create a weeks worth of captions while watching youtube videos.


“I feel like my brain is stuck in a dark room and I can't find the light switch. I'm great at coming up with ideas for captions when I'm working with a coach and she's feeding me inspiration but when I’m on my own I’m lost!”


Can you relate with this client of mine?!


Or maybe your inspiration comes in rushes. You’re inspired with five captions at the beginning of the month and you’re excited about a strong start, but week two and three sneak up on you and you’re dreading finding out how many people have “unfollowed” you on instagram.


Inspiration from coaches and downloads of epic captions feel exhilarating, but creating content without those things doesn’t have to be exhausting or feel like being stuck in a dark room.


Let me turn the light on for you, so to speak.


When’s the last time you made a facebook live video?

When’s the last time you listened to a sermon or watched a inspiration message on youtube?


I’m gonna teach you how to turn your own light on by creating captions from videos.



7 STEPS TO CREATING CONTENT FROM VIDEOS YOU’VE ALREADY MADE

I hate it when people feel left out, so if you don’t make facebook live or youtube videos, scroll to the next section - it’s all for YOU!


We typically make videos from one of two thoughts:

1) This is part of my marketing campaign and I planned this.

2) I’m super inspired and need to share this.


That means great content is hiding there.

So, here's what I want you to do:

1) Open your most recent video.

2) Pull up a blank piece of paper (a google doc or sheet of paper).

3) Turn your video on.

4) Write and type any phrase, sentence, thought you think is worth repeating or triggers another thought that you could elaborate on.

5) Read through what you have (you should have anywhere between 5 and 25 pieces of inspiration - depending on how long the video is).

6) Connect similar thoughts. Elaborate on short thoughts. Copy and paste complete thoughts.

7) Ask yourself, “Is there anything else I wish I had said during this video?”. Write it down. You might come up with a devotion, prayer, or maybe you’ll just go into more detail on something you kinda glossed over.


There’s an opportunity here I don’t want you to miss: use two or three of those posts to point your audience back to the video you created with an ending like “if you liked this thought there’s a whole video exploring this topic in more detail at the link in my bio.”



7 STEPS TO CREATING CONTENT FROM VIDEOS YOU WATCH

I realize not everyone hops on facebook live or publishes youtube videos, but we have probably watched 5 too many youtube videos and experiences moments of “brain in the dark” when it comes to inspiration.


If that's you, what I want you to do is: 1) Open this video.

2) Pull up a blank piece of paper (a google doc or sheet of paper)

3) Turn your video on.

4) Write and type any phrase, sentence, thought you think is worth repeating or triggers another thought.

5) Read through what you have (you should have anywhere between 5 and 25 pieces of inspiration - depending on how long the video is).

6) Pick your favorite quotes and add a call to action below them. All those phrases you write down because they reminded you of a story or life experience; write that story out.

7) Ask yourself, “Is there anything in this video I have experienced lately?”. Write it down. Maybe you handled a situation differently recently because of watching this video. Maybe you learned the same lesson she’s sharing - show share that lesson from your perspective.


You don’t have to stay stuck in a dark room creating content without a coach or rush of inspiration. But you have to turn on your own inspiration-switch. And guess what happens when you do? You’ll inspire others with the content you create!


P.S. I actually did this assignment to make sure it was legit before I hit publish. I ended up with nine captions from a 3 minute and 40 second video. I’ll be sending out the templates in tomorrow's email. So, If you want to see how it works just leave your email address in the comments!

34 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page