top of page
  • Sisi Roose

{Week 3} Road to Rebranding: Create more “double tap” content by pitching your idea.

Have you ever received a gift that you pretended to love?


Yeah, me too.


I hate getting things I don't want, because there’s actually things in the world that I DESPERATELY want!

News flash: there’s no “pretend love” for online creativity that misses the mark, only crickets.

I used to fight this fact. I used to let it stop me dead in my tracks.



Over a year ago, when I was still stuck in this don’t-create-because-people-might-not-love-it phase, a mom asked me to mentor her daughter. There were a lot of girls I wanted to mentor and I knew that if I ever got a chance to mentor them I would teach them how to journal and talk to Jesus. So I asked this mom, “If I put together a bible study for your daughter and a few others girls would it still be something you want?”.


Turns out, she was even more excited by the idea of a bible study because her daughter would not only have my mentoring, but also an opportunity to meet other girls. And just like that, through listening and pitching we were able to create something that we both loved.


Aesthetic #1

That being said, it doesn’t always go that smoothly...


“So is content about practicing grace - grace for yourself, grace for others, grace for your circumstances - something you’d read or be interested in?”


“Oh yes!” was the answer from everyone I talked to.


“How would you most like that content? Audio/podcast, video, blog post?” I asked.


“Mmmmmm, a blog post or a podcast with a transcript. I really like the written version,” not the answer I was expecting...


In case you didn’t catch it, pitching followed the same formula as the original market research questions. Idea? Method??


Aesthetic #2 PC: @sparklystephi

I nailed the idea.


I didn’t nail it in the “method/presentation” category.


I assumed they would want a podcast because that’s what I’ve been enjoying lately, but they all asked for a written format. Two of them thought a podcast would be a nice touch, but only as an additional option (and they still requested and transcript to be posted).


If I had gone off and created podcasts on this topic the people who wanted it might never enjoy it, not because it doesn’t interest them, but because it wasn’t given to them in the way they like to receive it.


Aesthetic #3

That’s why I pitch and that’s what I ADORE market research.


Instead of spending hours..weeks...no, months pouring into ideas that I think others will like and getting frustrated when all I get is crickets, I’ve committed to ask and listen. I don’t want to give my audience gifts they don’t want.


I’M GONNA PITCH TO YOU, READY?

Throughout this post you probably noticed instagram feed screenshots. My audience asked for a nice aesthetic. Which IG feed do you like best??? Just leave the number of your favorite feed in the comments (if you want something different, leave the IG handle you’re thinking of in the comments and I’ll check it out).


Aesthetic #4 PC: @forthejoyphotography & @amarismills

P.S. This journey has showed me a beautiful thing: it’s not the specific ideas I'm attached to, it's the idea of creating something that helps others that I'm attached to. So, why wouldn’t I spend time asking my audience what they want and create exactly what they ask for?!


P.P.S. This is my last post for 2018, but I can't wait to catch up with you in the new year!

17 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page