top of page
  • Sisi Roose

Writing Routine: How to write inspired content even when you’re uninspired


“I love writing,” I thought. “But I’m not writing and never feel like working on my book.

On the other hand, I love working out. I work out frequently and I even look forward to showing up to workouts.”



So, I started asking myself,


“How can I want to write? What is the difference between my writing experience and my workout experience (minus the whole cardio, weights, and sweat thing)?”.


Here’s what I came up with:


When I workout there is…

Routine: Warm up, talk about workout goals, practice movements, workout.

Music: This allows me to tune out my surroundings and channel my mental energy on the movements and rhythm of breathing.

Commitment: I show up more than once a week and If I didn’t show up for over a week people start tracking me down (for real, though).

Promised ending: I will be in and out in one hour unless I choose to stay longer.


When I write there is…

Well, there wasn’t a list, because I just wasn’t writing.


More than anything I wanted to re-create “the zone” or “flow state” I experienced when working out. The time in which my brain tunes everything out except the exercises and music.



Have you ever seen those moments in the movies where one or two people are in a crowd and suddenly they’re alone but in the same place?! That’s kinda what “the zone” feels like. It’s just you and the workout and the music. I just wanted it to be me and the keyboard and my thoughts.


Now, when I write there is…

Routine: Cup of hot coffee, google doc opened (all other tabs closed), journal open with a pen.

Music: Bethel Without Words. I truly believe this is a huge part of “the zone” for me, because it allows the part of my brain that thinks faster than my fingers to keep up with the music and tune everything else out.

Commitment: Five days a week.

Promised Ending: My writing commitment is one hour unless I choose to write longer. On my drag days, I keep writing words and filling the page until timer goes off.



If you choose to try this, which I certainly hope you do, here’s a few things I learned while creating a writing routine inspired by my athletic routine…

  1. Getting in “the zone” takes practice. It probably took me a whole month of writing five days a week to experience “the zone” while writing. Three months in I still don’t experience “the zone” every time I write.

  2. Writing still isn’t enjoyable every time (neither is working out) and inspired words don’t flow from my fingers everyday. Those are the days I’m thankful for the 60 minute timer.

  3. Even with empty-brain days I’ve written more inspired content by showing up every day than waiting for the days of inspiration.

Here’s to investing time into the things we love, creating a routine to keep help us show up, writing on the days we feel uninspired, working out when we’d rather watch “Young & Hungry”, and trusting the process.


LET’S CHAT: Do you have a writing routine? If so, I’d love to know how your routine is different from mine? If not, what do you think your writing routine will look like?!

47 views1 comment
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page